GACAA Annual Meeting Minutes

Dalton Convention Center November 16, 2022

Proceedings:

Meeting called to order at 8:35 am by Justin Shealey.

Official Nominations of Proposed Officers:

It is Southeast District's turn to nominate a Vice President. Andrew Sawyer was nominated for Vice President. His nomination received a seconded. Andrew Sawyer accepted the nomination. A motion was made to close nominations and elect Andrew Sawyer by acclimation. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Brooklyne Wassel completed one term as secretary and is stepping down to take care of family. As such, the position of Secretary to fulfill a one-year term is open with the ability to serve up to three years. Philip Edwards nominated Madison Luke to serve as Secretary. Doug Collins made the second. Madison Luke accepted the nomination. A motion was made from the floor to close nominations and elect Madison Luke by acclimation. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Ty Torrance completed a three-year term as Treasurer and as such is vacating the position. Guy Hancock was nominated from the floor and received a second. Guy Hancock accepted the nomination. A motion was made to close nominations and elect Guy Hancock by acclimation. The motion received a second and passed unanimously.

Secretary's Report:

Brooklyne Wassel addressed the membership and stated copies of the previous year's meeting were on each table. Philip Edwards made a motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes and pass as submitted. The motion was seconded by Tucker Price and passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report:

Ty Torrance provided balance sheets and current reconciliation located on each table. Ty Torrance reviewed the documents including income, expenses, and investments. He explained rolling over an investment given beneficial interest rates. A motion and a second were received from the floor to accept the treasurer's report and file for audit. Motion passed with no opposition.

NACAA Report:

Keith Mickler addressed the membership on behalf of NACAA. He informed the meeting that Melody Rose, NACAA Southern Region Director, was unable to attend due to illness. Keith Mickler gave an update on NACAA AM/PIC and thanked the membership for their support during his campaign to become President-elect. He will become NACAA President in Iowa at NACAA AM/PIC and encouraged everyone to attend.

Committee Reports:

Brooklyne Wassel thanked the committee chairs that submitted their reports and encouraged chairs to submit those via email as soon as possible. A motion and second was received from the floor to dispense with reading of the committee minutes. The motion passed with no opposition.

Association Business:

Justin Shealey announced GACAA AM/PIC would take place in Northeast District November 13-15, 2023. He opened the floor to any new business. Bob Kemerait asked for information concerning placing a bid to host NACAA AM/PIC. Discussion on the floor consisted of costs of hosting, personnel needs to host, timing of placing a bid, and when to make a final decision. A formal vote was not held but general consensus to discuss again at next GACAA AM/PIC.

Recognition of Outgoing Committee Chairs:

Ashley Hoppers (Natural Resources), Greg Huber (Awards and Recognition)

Recognition of Outgoing Senior Directors:

Savannah Tanner (Southeast District), James Morgan (Southwest District), Campbell Vaughn (Northeast District), (Northwest Senior Director Position Vacant), Laurel Dunn (State Staff)

Memorials:

GOTCAA provided a memorial slideshow that was shared with the members. A moment of silence was held in honor of their memory.

Installation of 2022-2023 Officers/Directors:

J. Michael Moore installed officers in Gary Hawkins' absence. Senior Directors were installed- Scout Carter (Southeast District), Kim Post (Southwest District), Shanna Reynolds (Northeast District), Hailey Partain (Northwest District), Ted McAvoy (State Staff). Junior Directors were installed- Colby Royal (Southeast District), Justin Hand (Southwest District), Robyn Stewart (Northeast District), Gibson Priest (Northwest District), Simer Virk (State Staff). Officers were installed-Justin Shealey (Past-President), Brenda Jackson (President), Lucy Ray (President-Elect), Andrew Sawyer (Vice-President), Madison Luke (Secretary), Guy Hancock (Treasurer).

Evaluation:

An email will go out to all members with a survey evaluation. Please be sure to fill it out so improvements can be made to the conference.

Announcements:

Members were directed to stay for the awards ceremony directly following the meeting and an optional lunch before getting on the road

Meeting adjourned at 10:00 am.

Due to technology failure, minutes from the business meeting are condensed.